
Overview of the North Carolina Eviction Process 

 

North Carolina Landlord Tenant and Eviction Laws are founded on Chapter 42 of the North 
Carolina General Statutes. The laws, passed by the North Carolina Legislature, spell out the 
duties and remedies in the Landlord/Tenant relationship. The following information is a basic 
outline of the eviction process. It is NOT a substitute for legal counsel and is provided only to 
give general information. 

Eviction Notice 

The first step in the North Carolina Eviction Process is giving the tenant an Eviction Notice. If the 
landlord is evicting the tenant for non-payment of rent (most common reason), then the notice 
must demand the rent, and give the tenant 10 days to pay it before a “Summary Ejectment” 
(Eviction) Complaint is filed. This notice is called a “10-Day Demand for Rent”. If the basis for 
the eviction is a lease violation other than non-payment of rent, the notice is called a “10 Day 
Demand for Compliance or Possession”. 

If the tenant is being evicted because they are staying beyond their lease term (called a 
holdover), and the landlord gave written notice that the lease would expire and they would 
have to move, then the time period in the notice varies. So for a landlord to evict a tenant for a 
holdover, the notice period is as follows: 

 7 Days if the tenant paid rent monthly 
 1 Month if the tenant paid rent yearly 
 30 Days for Mobile Home lot rental 

Summary Ejectment 

After the landlord has given the tenant proper notice and has waited out the notice period, the 
landlord must go to court and file a "Summary Ejectment" case to evict the tenant if the tenant 
remains in possession of the property. It is illegal for a landlord to physically evict a tenant 
without going through court procedures. The landlord must go to the Small Claims court in the 
county where the property is located. The landlord should ask the court clerk for the Complaint 
form to file a Summary Ejectment case. There will be a filing fee. Once the landlord files the 
case and pays the filing fee, the court will issue a Summons.  

Sheriff Serves the Summons and Complaint 

Once the eviction case is filed, the court will give a Summons and a copy of the Complaint to 
the County Sheriff. It is the County Sheriff's job to deliver these documents to the tenant. These 
documents will tell the tenant when and where the eviction hearing will be. The Summons will 
require the tenant to appear not more than 7 days from the issuance of the Summons. The 
Sheriff may serve the Summons by mail or in person within 5 days of issuance of the Summons, 
but not less than 2 days before the scheduled hearing.  

  

http://www.evictionresources.com/eviction_notice_forms/north_carolina_eviction_notice.php
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Hearing in Front of Magistrate Judge 

The landlord must be at the hearing in order to obtain the eviction. The tenant must attend if 
he/she wishes to contest the eviction. Each side will have an opportunity to tell their side of the 
story, and to present documents and witnesses as evidence. At the end of the hearing the 
Magistrate will make a decision. The Magistrate can order the tenant to move out, award 
money damages (for back rent or damage to the property), or both.  

Judgment for Possession 

If the landlord wins the eviction case, the magistrate judge will award the landlord a "Judgment 
for Possession." This is a court order stating the landlord is entitled to possession of the 
property and that the tenant has to vacate. The magistrate judge may also award a "money 
judgment" that says the tenant must pay the landlord a certain amount of money.  

10 Days to Appeal 

If the tenant loses the case, the tenant will have 10 days to appeal the verdict. If the tenant 
appeals the decision, he/she must give the landlord notice that they are appealing. An appeal 
would be heard in District Court.  

Writ of Possession 

If the tenant does not appeal the decision, or if the tenant loses the appeal, then the tenant has 
to vacate at the end of 10 days. If the tenant does not vacate, then the landlord can ask the 
Clerk of the Court to enforce the judgment by issuing a "Writ of Possession." Within 5 days of 
receipt, the Sheriff must execute the Writ of Possession. Within 7 days of execution of the Writ,  
the Sheriff will padlock the property. The tenant will then have 7 days to remove all personal 
property, or else the landlord may dispose of it. 


