AFFIDAVIT OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COVERAGE N.C.G.S. 87-14
(Must be submitted for each project)

The undersigned applicant for Building Permit # being the

Contractor Owner Officer/Agent of the Contactor or Owner

do hereby assert under penalties of perjury that the person(s), firm(s) or corporation(s)
performing the work set forth in the permit:

has/have three (3) or more employees and have obtained workers’ compensation
insurance to cover them.

has/have one or more subcontractor(s) and have obtained workers’ compensation
insurance covering them.

has/have one or more subcontractor(s) who has/have their own policy of
workers’ compensation covering themselves.

has/have not more than two (2) employees and no subcontractors,
while working on the project for which this permit is sought. It is understood that the
Inspection Department issuing the permit may require certificates of coverage of workers’
compensation insurance prior to issuance of the permit and at any time during the permitted

work from any person, firm or corporation carrying out the work.

Firm name:

By:

Title:

Date:

§ 87-14. Regulations as to issue of building permits.

Any person, firm or corporation, upon making application to the building inspector or such other authority of any incorporated city,
town or county in North Carolina charged with the duty of issuing building or other permits for the construction of any building,
highway, sewer, grading or any improvement or structure where the cost thereof is to be thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) or more, shall,
before he be entitled to the issuance of such permit, furnish satisfactory proof to such inspector or authority that he or another person
contracting to superintend or manage the construction is duly licensed under the terms of this Article to carry out or superintend the same,
and that he has paid the license tax required by the Revenue Act of the State of North Carolina then in force so as to be qualified to bid
upon or contract for the work for which the permit has been applied, and that he has in effect Workers' Compensation insurance as
required by Chapter 97 of the General Statutes; and it shall be unlawful for such building inspector or other authority to issue or allow the
issuance of such building permit unless and until the applicant has furnished evidence that he is either exempt from the provisions of this
Article or is duly licensed under this Article to carry out or superintend the work for which permit has been applied; and further, that the
applicant has paid the license tax required by the State Revenue Act then in force so as to be qualified to bid upon or contract for the
work covered by the permit; and further, that the applicant has in effect Workers' Compensation insurance as required by Chapter 97
of the General Statutes. Any building inspector or other such authority who is subject to and violates the terms of this section shall be
guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor and subject only to a fine of not more than fifty dollars ($50.00). (1925, c. 318, s. 13; 1931, c. 62, s. 4;
1937, c. 429, s. 7; 1949, c. 934; 1953, c. 809; 1969, c. 1063, s. 6; 1971, c. 246, s. 4; 1981, c. 783, s. 2; 1989, c. 109, s. 2; 1991 (Reg.
Sess., 1992), c. 840, s. 2; 1993, c¢. 539, s. 603; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)
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