BURGAW- Pender County Fire Marshal’s Office has issued a Burning Ban effected on Monday, May 24, at noon. This is a result of extreme dry conditions across the area.

“Pender County has seen a rise in the number of outside fires that are requiring extensive manpower and equipment for containment,” said Tommy Batson, Pender County Emergency Manager. “The area has received little, to no rainfall in the past few weeks. Additionally, the forecasted highs this week in are expected in the 90’s with no rain in sight.”

During the past two weeks as warmer, drier weather patterns have continued across southeastern North Carolina the fire danger has grown higher, and in some cases extreme, especially in the coastal counties.  The chance for stronger winds and very low humidity does not help for fire control operations.

The citizens of Pender County are urged to do everything possible to minimize the risk of fire during this period.

This restriction shall extend outward from all residential structures 100 feet.  This proclamation does not prohibit outdoor charcoal or gas grills provided precautions are taken to prevent fire from escaping those appliances.

According to the North Carolina Forestry Service, under North Carolina law, the ban prohibits all open burning in affected counties, regardless of whether a permit was previously issued. The issuance of new permits is suspended until the ban is lifted. Anyone violating the burn ban faces a $100 fine plus $180 court costs.

 

Translate »

COVID-19 vaccination appointments are NOW being accepted for everyone 12 years and older. Schedule your appointment in Burgaw or Hampstead. (Moderna vaccine is only approved for age 18 and up.)

X