Yes, If you choose not to pay the vehicle property tax at the time you register your newly purchased vehicle. You will receive a Limited Registration sticker, which is good for 60 days. You must pay the property tax before the 60 days is up. You can pay at your local license plate agency, by mail or online with DMV online tool especially for limited registration tax payments.
What if I don’t agree with the value, property tax or vehicle tax location, who do I contact, and what is the deadline for making an appeal?
After a vehicle owner has received their combined notice and the owner disagrees with the value or vehicle tax location, they should contact the County Tax Office in which the vehicle resides. The owner has 30 days to appeal from the due date, which is the 15th day of the month following the registration renewal action or similarly on a new registration.
No. If you have paid your vehicle property tax for the year and then transfer the license plate to another vehicle, you will not be eligible for a refund of the taxes paid. The registered motor vehicle to which the plates are transferred will not be taxed until its current registration is renewed
An owner can apply for a refund of taxes paid when a motor vehicle is sold or registered out of state. The refund will be calculated on any full calendar months remaining in the registration period after the license plate is surrendered to the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles. Any municipal vehicle tax assessed in accordance with NC General Statute 20-97 is not subject to proration or refund. Within one year of surrendering the license plates, the owner must present the following to the county tax office: (1) Proof of plate surrender to NCDMV (DMV Form FS20); and (2) Copy of the Bill of Sale or the new state’s registration.
Active duty non-resident military personnel may be exempt from North Carolina motor vehicle property tax. To qualify for an exemption, you must present a copy of your Leave & Earnings Statement (LES) to the county tax office. The statement should be for the month and year in which you register the vehicle and must include your Estimated Time of Separation (ETS) date and a home of record other than North Carolina. Military spouses may also qualify for exemption if their home of record is the same as the service member’s. In addition to providing a copy of the LES as described above, spouses must provide a copy of their military I.D. card and a copy of their out of state driver’s license, voter registration card or most current state tax return. If the vehicle is owned by a leasing company and leased to military personnel, the exemption cannot be applied and the taxes must be paid.3293-36
Outside of a revaluation year, below are the reasons for a change in value. Taken from
subsection (a) of NC G.S. 105-287:
(1) Correct a clerical or mathematical error.
(2) Correct an appraisal error resulting from a misapplication of the schedules, standards, and
rules used in the county’s most recent general reappraisal or horizontal adjustment.
(2a) Recognize an increase or decrease in the value of the property resulting from a
conservation or preservation agreement subject to Article 4 of Chapter 121 of the General
Statutes, the Conservation and Historic Preservation Agreements Act.
(2b) Recognize an increase or decrease in the value of the property resulting from a physical
change to the land or to the improvements on the land, other than a change listed in subsection
(b) of this section.
(2c) Recognize an increase or decrease in the value of the property resulting from a change in
the legally permitted use of the property.
(3) Recognize an increase or decrease in the value of the property resulting from a factor other than one listed in subsection (b).
And along with that, below are the reasons listed in subsection (b) of NC G.S. 105-287 of why Assessed Values May Not Change, again outside of a revaluation year:
(1) Normal, physical depreciation of improvements;
(2) Inflation, deflation, or other economic changes affecting the county in general; or
(3) Betterments to the property made by:
a. Repainting buildings or other structures;
b. Terracing or other methods of soil conservation;
c. Landscape gardening;
d. Protecting forests against fire; or
e. Impounding water on marshland for non commercial purposes to preserve or enhance the natural habitat of wildlife.
ASSESSED VALUE AND THE TAX RATE
The assessor’s office doesn’t determine the total amount of taxes collected. The assessor’s primary responsibility is to find the market value of your property, so that you may pay only your fair share of the taxes.
The amount of tax you pay is determined by a TAX RATE applied to your property’s ASSESSED VALUE. The tax rate is determined by all the taxing agencies-city and/or county, fire districts, and others -–and depends on what is needed to provide all the services you enjoy.